What is Affiliate Marketing?
Affiliate marketing is the process of earning a commission by promoting other people’s (or company’s) products.
You find a product you like, promote it to others, and earn a piece of the profit for each sale that you make.
• You’re happy because you earned a commission…
• The company is happy because they have a new sale from a customer that they might not have normally been able to reach…
• And the customer is happy because they learned about a product from you that will hopefully fulfill a need or desire.
The beauty of affiliate marketing is that you don’t have to invest the time and effort to create a product to sell. You can begin selling something as an affiliate as soon as you have a platform to sell it on.
Affiliate marketing is something I’ve been doing ever since I started my first business online on my “www.ganarextra.es” website, using Tradetracker.com platform.
Most Important Rules I Have for Affiliate Marketing
Before I share the strategies that I’ve used to generate over $500 in affiliate commissions per month, there are extremely important rules I use when promoting products that are not my own. You don’t have to use these rules in order to become an affiliate or be successful at it, but it’s what has helped me grow my affiliate income tremendously over the last couple of years:
1. I only recommend products as an affiliate that I’m extremely very familiar with – preferably products that I’ve used before and have helped me achieve something. If I’m not confident in the product and I don’t feel it will positively help people, I will not promote it.
2. I never directly tell anyone to buy a product. I always recommend products based on my experience and in the context of what I’ve done or what I’m doing.
Honest affiliate marketing has always worked best for me, so I encourage you to do the same.
3. The best way to think about affiliate marketing is quality over quantity. There are a lot of small websites that will promote one product, but the key is finding a small number of partners that will deliver conversions. For example, an equity management services firm has over 20,000 affiliates in its system, but only about 25 affiliates generate 85 percent of revenue.
The real deliverables will be dependent on locating the right affiliates, big or small, which drive results.
How publishers can monetize their site.
If you are asking how the publisher makes money, here is the answer. Publishers (you with your blog) earn money for generating sales and leads. When publishers promote and send visitors to an online shop, and these visitors complete an action (a purchase, membership or newsletter registration) publishers get a commission from any revenue generated from the visitor’s action. An example of this process is when an user buys a product through an Ad the publisher displays on his website and as soon as the merchant confirms the action, the publisher gets the commission for the generated sale, through the affiliate network.
Commission types from Affiliate Networks
- cost per action (CPA): a set up rate for every action that is taken by a user. Examples of CPA are transactions like: cost per click, cost per lead, and cost per sale.
- cost per click (CPC): also pay per click is a commission structure in which the advertiser pays the publishers a flat amount every time a visitor clicks a link on the publisher’s website and redirected to the advertiser’s shop.
- cost per lead (CPL): also pay per lead, is another type of commission in which the advertiser pays the publishers a flat amount for every qualified customer lead generated from a link on the publisher’s site. Lead generated customers can be those who fill a form or become members.
- cost per sale (CPS): also pay per sale: is a commission in which the advertiser pays the publishers a percentage of each completed sale transaction made through links on the publisher’s site.
- cost per thousand (CPM): impressions also referred to as cost per mille commission, is a method in which the advertiser pays a stablished amount for every 1000 impressions. For instance, a website that reports 100,000 visits can charge $1,000 per ad so this means the site has a CPM of $10.